State Pension Entitlements

There are three main types of State Pension Entitlements that most older people are entitled to: the Contributory State Pension; the Non-Contributory State Pension and the Widow / Widowers’ Contributory Pension.

  1. The Contributory State Pension
  2. This is a pension paid to people aged 66 and older who have been making social insurance contributions (i.e. paying PRSI) during their working lives.  This pension is not means-tested, which means everyone who qualifies is paid it, regardless of any other income.  The level of pension paid is related to the number of years of PRSI contributions that have been made up to retirement: the maximum level of payment (2016) is €233 per week.  The rate of payment is normally reviewed and increased each year at Budget time.  There is a further payment for Older People over 80 years of age, currently €9 per week.

  3. The Non-Contributory State Pension
  4. This is a means-tested payment for people over 66 who do not, for whatever reason qualify for the Contributory State pension and who do not have significant other income.  The maximum entitlement is currently €222 per week (2016)

  5. The Widow / Widower’s Contributory State Pension
  6. This pension is a payment made to the husband, wife or civil partner of a deceased person who themselves would have qualified for the Contributory pension had they been alive.  This pension is not means-tested, and the maximum weekly payment is also €233 per week (2016) for Older people over 66 years of age.


Further information of all forms of State Pension entitlement can be found on the Citizens Information website at this address: click here.

Share this Post

← Back to Homecare Blog